Here’s the lengthy bodycount found in comic Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again. Deadpool made his comic debut in The New Mutants in 1991 and was created by Rob Liefeld. The character is something of a parody of Slade Wilson / Deathstroke, with even Deadpool’s real name Wade Wilson being a tongue in cheek gag. What set Deadpool apart from other antiheroes like The Punisher is that he’s completely aware he’s a comic character and frequently breaks the fourth wall.

Ryan Reynolds first became interested in starring in a Deadpool movie in the early 2000s, with his Blade: Trinity performance heavily inspired by the character. The movie ended up floating in development hell for years, with Reynolds essentially forced to make a cameo in X-Men Origins: Wolverine in the hope it would lead to a solo movie. That didn’t come to pass either and it was only after test footage leaked and went viral that Fox took a chance on the project. This proved to be a wise choice as both Deadpool and Deadpool 2 have been enormous hits. Despite being R-rated they still the highest grossing entries in the X-Men franchise.


The Punisher Kills The Marvel Universe from writer Garth Ennis (Preacher) became a cult favorite back in 1995, where the title character lays waste to many superheroes and villains in a decidedly non-canon story. Marvel revisited this concept with Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe in 2012, which proved popular enough to warrant a sequel, the aptly titled Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again. Needless to say, its a bloody affair, so here’s every kill Deadpool makes during the comic in roughly the correct order.

See also  American Ninja Warrior: 'Sweet T' Tiana Webberley's Age, Job & Instagram

Gambit (Impaled with staff)

MODOK (Rocket launcher)

Rogue (Stabbed)

Quicksilver (Stabbed)

Synapse (Stabbed)

Doctor Voodoo (Stabbed)

Black Widow (Unseen)

The Thing (Unseen)

Luke Cage (Unseen)

Iron Fist (Unseen)

Thor (Turned to stone with Medusa’s head)

Loki (Turned to stone)

Valkyrie (Turned to stone)

Hippolyta (Turned to stone)

Ganesha (Turned to stone)

Hercules (Turned to stone)

Eddie Brock (Shot after using air horn to separate Venom from body)

Peter Parker Spider-Man (Eaten by Venom)

Spider-Woman (Shot)

Porcupine (Shot)

Miles Morales Spider-Man (Beheaded)

Groot (Burned)

Rocket Raccoon (Skinned)

Drax (Beheaded)

Star-Lord (Beheaded)

Gamora (Hanged)

Angel (Turned to mush)

Cyclops (Turned to mush)

Beast (Turned to mush)

Iceman (Turned to mush)

Marvel Girl (Turned to mush)

The Rest of the X-Men (Unseen)

The Punisher (Vapourised)

Moon Knight (Stabbed)

Iron Man (Ripped in half)

Jessica Jones (Necked broken)

Cable (Exploding arrow)

Kate Bishop (Ultron energy blast)

Misty Knight (Vapourised)

The Rest of The Avengers (Torn to pieces)

Power Pack (Stabbed)

Ms. Marvel (Stabbed)

Moon Girl (Stabbed)

Nova (Shot)

Gwenpool (Stabbed)

Carnage (Incinerated)

Mysterio (Drowned)

Wrecker (Crushed by wrecking ball)

Green Goblin (Beheaded)

Crossbones (Stabbed in neck)

Red Skull (Beheaded)

It’s tough to keep an exact bodycount with Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again, as the character unleashes so much carnage. It can be assumed other heroes and villains like Doctor Doom met their end too, while Taskmaster is killed by Red Skull when he refuses to fight Deadpool in the finale. Deadpool goes on a rampage because the villains brainwashed him, and the story ends on an ambiguous note too, with Red Skull suggesting the whole thing could just be in Wade’s head. Wade also spares Magneto, preferring the villain live with his guilt over his part in the evil plan.

Deadpool Kills The Marvel Universe Again is a fun, if somewhat bleak, novelty with lacings of black humor and gore. It’s doubtful it will form the basis of Deadpool 3 or any future live-action project, but its a crazy ride while it lasts.

Power Girl Returns as a Hero in DC’s Universe

About The Author